Benjamin.Cramphorn
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Mr B S Cramphorn

Safe way to free up disk space on Backup Repository

Post by Benjamin.Cramphorn »

Morning All,

First off I'm completely new to VEEAM!

Our backup jobs have been failing for the last few days. We're getting "There is not enough space on the disk. Failed to flush the buffers" error messages for all our jobs. The backup repository has 20TB of space so not sure why it's failing as our VMs are well under that in terms of disk usage.

For each job we have 1 x vmb file which I understand is the meta data for the job. 1 x vbk file and a lot of vrb files. Am I ok to delete the vrb files directly off the repository or do I need to do it from within VEEAM to free up space?

Does anyone have any tips for freeing up space?

Sorry for the vague question! But hoping someone can help.
Vitaliy S.
VP, Product Management
Liked: 2719 times
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Safe way to free up disk space on Backup Repository

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hi Benjamin,

As far as I see you're using reversed incremental backup mode for your backup jobs, so it is safe to delete the latest VRB file without affecting the entire backup chain. On the other hand, I don't believe that would help, cause you say that you have 20 TB of free space on your repository or it is a total capacity? What's your destination target for the backup job?

Thanks!
Benjamin.Cramphorn
Novice

The destination we are backing up to is a QNAP NAS box with capacity of 20TB. In total the virtual machines we are backing up are about 14TB.