Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
rawtaz
Expert
Liked: 15 times

Open letter to Gostev

Post by rawtaz » 2 people like this post

Hello,

This is a somewhat off topic, but since I didn't find any other forum to post it in, and replying directly to Gostev wouldn't be much of a discussion (it'd probably end up in his trash), I'm posting it here. Either way, it's about the forum digest, so what better place would there be.

I've been using Veeam Backup & Replication for many years now, and in summary it's been nothing but great. I've recommended the product to other users, both currently in the industry using competitor products, and new users entering the virtualization business. I haven't been on this forum for a few years now since I've simply had other things to do, and my Veeam stuff just works. In short, this is not a post from a disgruntled customer/user.

Getting to the point, I'm also a mostly happy reader of Gostev's "Veeam Community Forum Digests", reading all of them every time they arrive. While they're named Community Forum Digests, one could think they're just about what happens in the forum, but this isn't the case. Gostev usually covers a bit from the forum, but also a bunch of things happening in the industry, usually a nice pick of things to know about. So it's a bit off topic too, to be fair, but usually in a good way.

However; Over the last six to twelve months, possibly more, there's something going on in these digests that I've noticed and reacted on but didn't do much about because heck, you can't make a fuzz of everything in this world. But lately, this has in my opinion escalated to a level where I think it is simply unfair and no longer factual, but rather spreading FUD. And when this happens, I find it sad, because I think well of Gostev and he's in a position that I think should stick more to facts than unreasonable opinions, if I may call them that.