Host-based backup of Microsoft Hyper-V VMs.
timgowen
Influencer
Liked: never
Full Name: Tim Gowen

New User - Backup Proxy

Post by timgowen »

I'm new to Veeam Backup & Replication. I'm testing backing up a cluster of VMs and the backup works. I've not managed to restore, and I believe my configuration lacks a Proxy for Hyper-V. The backup waits for the next task (15 minutes) and then fails to obtain resource availability on the server where the VM is to be restored.

I think I've misunderstood the proxy because I thought the backup server was its own proxy (following the simple configuration in the documentation). Having now set up an off-host proxy on the Hyper-V server, will it work? Or should I add the Hyper-V role to the backup server and use that as a proxy. Do all servers in the cluster need to be configured as off-host backup proxies?
timgowen
Influencer
Liked: never
Full Name: Tim Gowen

Re: New User - Backup Proxy

Post by timgowen »

This is what the log contains:

Code: Select all

22/08/2017 09:03:56          Starting restore job
22/08/2017 09:03:57          Locking required backup files
22/08/2017 09:03:58          Queued for processing at 8/22/2017 9:03:58 AM
22/08/2017 09:19:01          Waiting for the next task
22/08/2017 09:19:01 Error    Unable to allocate processing resources. Error: Failed to obtain resource availability:
                             Dowding [this is the name of the host server in the cluster]                             
22/08/2017 09:19:01 Error    Restore job failed Error: Timed out waiting for backup infrastructure resources to become available
DGrinev
Veteran
Liked: 247 times
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev

Re: New User - Backup Proxy

Post by DGrinev » 1 person likes this post

Hi Tim and welcome to the community!