Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
rudebaldo
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Best Tool

DATA DOMAIN Mtree replica

Post by rudebaldo »

Hello,
I am quite new to Veeam, so I am a little puzzled about Data Domain and its native replica capabilities.
This is the environment:
One single Veeam B&R server 9.5 U2 - Headquarter
One Data Domain 2200 5.6.0.5 - DDBoost and replication license installed - Headquarter
One Data Domain 2200 5.7.3.0 - DDBoost and replication license installed - Branch office connected via MPLS

The DD2200 HQ is the destination of all Veeam backup, configured as Deduplicating storage appliance

Now my goal is to replicate the data between the two Data Domain:in case of catastrophic failure I must be able to configure a Veeam server and connect to the DD2200 located in branch office, and restore VM - OR - restore the data from remote DD in case of main DD failure.
More, the replication between the two data domains must be done considering that are located on different locations.

I have tested the Data Domain Mtree native replication, but in this post:
vmware-vsphere-f24/data-domain-mtree-re ... ca#p233492
there is this warning:
But please note that we do not support or recommend storage-based replication as means to copy backups in any case, you should be using Backup Copy jobs instead.

Basing on this, I assume that this is to be done:
1) configure a Mtree on the remote DD2200
2) configure it as additional repository in the Veeam B&R server,
3) configure a backup copy job
4) configure the backup job with flag on "Secondary destinations for this job", and use the backup copy job

Is this correct, or is there any other possible configuration?
If this is the only config suggested, will the backup copy job have the same performances - in terms of data transferred and overhead - as the native Mtree replication?
Why the storage-based is not supported / recommended?

Thanks in advance
Gostev
Chief Product Officer
Liked: 6700 times