Standalone backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)
babuja
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: CD

How to recover windows from iso image

Post by babuja »

Hi guys, complete noobie here.

I've created some days ago a "entire computer" backup image.

My laptop had a windows issue and i need to restore from image.

What's the proper way to successfuly achive the system restore?

Cheers
Dima P.
Product Manager
Liked: 1576 times
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: How to recover windows from iso image

Post by Dima P. »

Hi babuja,

In order to perform Bare Metal Recovery you must have a Recovery Media. Please take a look at these articles and let us know if you have any questions. Thanks!

P.S. If you don’t have a Recovery Media and your computer is not operational you can use any other computer to create a general Recovery Media without drivers being collected.
babuja
Novice

Post by babuja »

My Laptop failed and win 10 had to be recovered using windows repair tools.

However I've created a bare metal iso image 2 days ago with Veeam Agent for windows, of my drive c:/ (with win 10 OS and all software). I'm using this image to try to restore my win10 to its previews state without sucess.

The iso image is around 700 MB and was stored in a diferent partition, and this is how it looks like Image

Ive tried to boot from this iso image in a pen drive without sucess.

I've the created a bootable pen drive from iso image with rufus (https://rufus.akeo.ie/) and ive been able to launch recovery enviroment. I choose to "bare metal recovery" but in the "backup location" menu, veeam cant find any backup file and the iso image is no good for recovery.

At this moment my laptop is not operational as i cant restore system...all the help is very appreciated.

Thank you
Dima P.
Product Manager

Post by Dima P. »

Thanks for the details.
in the "backup location" menu, veeam cant find any backup