Host-based backup of Microsoft Hyper-V VMs.
jsull
Influencer
Liked: never

Hyper-V Proxy

Post by jsull »

Warning, I'm a total Veeam newbie.

I'm trying to do a simple setup:
Veeam Server on a Hyper-V VM, Server 2016
Backup Repository on a Dell PowerEdge using local storage, Server 2016

Can I use the Repository server as the off-site proxy? I've been able to create it, but my backup job doesn't see it as a suitable proxy. The job runs OK if it fails over to on-host processing.
I'm unsure where to start troubleshooting, or am I just missing something?

Thanks,
John
Mike Resseler
Product Manager
Liked: 1263 times
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Hyper-V Proxy

Post by Mike Resseler »

Hi Jsull,

Is there a SAN involved or is it SMB shared storage? You are saying that you are using local storage?

The requirements for a off-host proxy are defined here: https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... host_proxy

Brgds,
Mike
jsull
Influencer

Post by jsull »

Hi Mike.
No SAN, just SMB share on a WIn 2016 server, a Dell PowerEdge R515.
The specs look OK, except I don't know much about the VSS provider part. Could that be the issue?
jsull
Influencer

Post by jsull »

Followup:
I created a couple of Hyper-V proxies on VMs (one each for 2012 R2 and 2016), and they don't work either, so I'm not sure what's going on. On-site processing always works.

Thanks,
John
nmdange
Veteran
Liked: 142 times

Post by nmdange » 1 person likes this post