Host-based backup of Microsoft Hyper-V VMs.
kaszast
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Tibor Kaszas

VM backup fails insufficient free disk space on datastore

Post by kaszast »

Hi

I am very new with Veeam. I have a shared datastore with 134.7GB free space. No snapshots, nothing requires consolidation but i can't backup a 16GB VM because Veeam fails with an error message "Processing SAFW01 Error: Skipping VM processing due to insufficient free disk space on datastore EQL LTVHOST-SHARED." Where can i find more details of this error because i have the free space. (Much more than required by this backup.)

Thanks.
kaszast
Novice
Full Name: Tibor Kaszas

Re: VM backup fails insufficient free disk space on datastor

Post by kaszast »

OMG... I found it, under the options, "Skip VM processing under the free space below..." I have 4% free only. :)
DGrinev
Veteran
Liked: 247 times
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev

Post by DGrinev »

Hi Tibor and welcome to the community!

Yes, that's exactly the parameter you can try to lower in General Options -> Notifications -> Skip VM processing when free disk space below - 5% (by default) and check if you will be able to backup the VM. Thanks!
EssarCDN
Lurker

Post by EssarCDN »

is this possible with VBR 9.5 when you just have only free edition functionality enabled? i can't seem to find the option under general options..
DGrinev
Veteran

Post by DGrinev »

Hi and welcome to the community!

No, it's not possible in free version of the product. Thanks!
Calby
Enthusiast
Full Name: Robin Johansson

Post by Calby »

DGrinev wrote:Hi Tibor and welcome to the community!

Yes, that's exactly the parameter you can try to lower in General Options -> Notifications -> Skip VM processing when free disk space below - 5% (by default) and check if you will be able to backup the VM. Thanks!
This is a old thread I know it but I have stumbled on this also, so what exactly are this function?