Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
cac
Lurker
Liked: never
Full Name: CL

Backing up directly to AWS - my approach - opinions please..

Post by cac »

Hello All,
I've been using Veeam for almost 2 years now backing up to an Exagrid appliance and overall has worked well for us.
Our retention period is relatively short (less than 1 month), and we recently ran low on space on our Exagrid appliance.
I was exploring backing up to AWS directly and came up with what I think is a cost effective solution for our company (it's a hybrid approach - we're not getting rid of Exagrid anytime soon).

We are an AWS customer and I am utilizing the AWS storage gateway with cached volumes. This approach presents iSCSI disks to the VEEAM server, and within VEEAM, I'm able to add a repository and point it directly to the "local" (AWS) disk. I've backed up about 10TB of data without issues. I've also done test restores without issue. The bottlneck here is definitely our bandwidth, but so far it has worked very well for the past month.
We also utilize Nimble snapshots for short term recovery in the event we need to restore something very quickly (we keep about 5 days or so).

I understand there are negatives here, specifically:
Backup/restore process dependent upon Bandwidth speeds
Restores are slower for very large VMs
As data grows, the AWS cost will increase (currently, it's around $7-$10 per day to backup incremental data)
Data isn't deduped or compressed like on the Exagrid (at least to my knowledge, unless Veeam does some of this on it's own?)

Positives:
I don't have to physically buy/rack/stack another appliance.
Adding space is relatively simple if we run out.
Up front cost is very minimal compared to shelling out tens of thousands for new appliance (which is what it would cost in our case for a new appliance).
Drives in AWS can be snapshot and saved for further protection.