Disaster recovery orchestration for the Enterprise (formerly Veeam Availability Orchestrator)
jtupeck
Enthusiast
Liked: 22 times
Full Name: Jason Tupeck

VAO default template customization question

Post by jtupeck »

When will there be a VAO Product Forum? I am looking for some assistance with the reporting templates, but am not finding anything with the 'Search' function and when I looked for a product forum for this, there doesn't appear to be one. Might be good to get one set up, because I am certain there will be plenty of questions as this rolls out to more customers.

Now, to my question:

I am an MS Word newb and am struggling a bit on how to get the default template for VAO to fit our environment. At the beginning of the basic report template, there is a Quick Part that is labeled 'PlanName' and contains the <<PlanName>> variable. I want to reuse this elsewhere in the document and am finding myself unable to figure it out. I do not see a value for the plan name anywhere.
DGrinev
Veteran
Liked: 247 times
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev

Re: VAO default template customization question

Post by DGrinev »

Hi Jason,

For some reason VAO forum section wasn't visible to some specific types of users, but thanks for the heads up! We've fixed this issue.

Thanks!
jtupeck
Enthusiast

Post by jtupeck »

Thank you!
Alec King
VP, Product Management
Liked: 362 times

Post by Alec King » 1 person likes this post

Hi Jason,

We did not design the report to allow insertion of auto-filled text fields (such as Plan Name) into the template text.

Plan Name on the title page will be populated by VAO when the report is generated, of course.

Also the Plan Name will be used in various report pages which are appended to the template - the Report Overview page, and so on. This is all automatic.

The template is designed to hold specific (hard-coded) information which can relate to the Site (e.g. Emergency Contact numbers, Building maintenance and so on).