Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
DrRandy
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Randy Stone

Advice for SQL DIFF backup failure?

Post by DrRandy »

Hi,

I'm a DBA. We support a few SQL Servers in ESX. Most of our SQL Servers are physical. We have SQL Server jobs that do full, diff, and log database backups. Recently the SQL Server job that does the diff database backups started failing in the VMs. The Server team is using VEEAM to do backups. It appears that SQL Server is aware of the VEEAM system backup. Unfortunately, SQL Server detects the out-of-band backup and refuses to perform a diff backup until a new full database backup is done. Do we need to do the full database backup after the VEEAM backup to support a restore to a point in time? Do we have to do a full database restore after a VEEAM restore to apply the SQL diff and transaction log backups? Do we need a separate backup for the SQL backup files?

The server team does the backup once a night. Their interest is to have a fully consistent system backup. It is nice that they can restore to any full system backup the prior 30 days. However, DBA wants to be able to restore any one database to a point in time to the original server or to another server. Is there a COPY_ONLY option for a VEEAM backup so that it does not affect the SQL Server backup jobs?

I only know a little about VEEAM and VSS. Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Randy
Gostev
Chief Product Officer
Liked: 6647 times

Re: Advice for SQL DIFF backup failure?

Post by Gostev »

Hi Randy, try to disable transaction logs processing for this SQL Server VM (click Advanced on Guest Processing step of backup job wizard). Thanks.
DrRandy
Novice

Post by DrRandy »

I will request that this be tried. I will report back if it works. Thanks for the help.
DrRandy
Novice

Post by DrRandy »