Host-based backup of VMware vSphere VMs.
tpayne
Service Provider
Liked: 17 times
Full Name: Tim Payne

Upgrading esxi from 5.5 U2 to 6.7 concerns

Post by tpayne »

Hello,

I am upgrading my ESXi server soon from 5.5U2 to 6.7 and I have been backing up the VMs with veeam for almost 2 years. I am aware that the latest version of Veeam is required for 6.7 which I am currently running. My concern is that an active full will be required after upgrading ESXi. I plan to upgrade the vms to at least hardware version 11.

I would like to avoid an active full, especially for the backup copy Job. This is because the backup copy job has GFS retention enabled and I am getting HUGE savings from ReFS.
We are required to keep 1 year on monthly's and logically, veeam is storing about 20 TB with all the monthly generations, when the disk usage is only about 5 TB.

I want to avoid needing to do an active full on the backup copy (I am using forever forward incremental with synthetic GFS copies being made) because I don't have the storage currently to basically have to start a new ReFS chain. (I am assuming i will basically be storing a similar amount again by the time a year goes around so I will need double until 1 year passes before refs removes all the data from the previous chain.)

The esxi upgrade is going to be a 2-step process as there isnt a direct upgrade path from 5.5 to 6.7. I have to upgrade to 6.5 U1 first.
Should I run an incremental backup after installing 6.5? and then again after 6.7?

Has anyone had any experience with a similar scenario?

Thank You.
skrause
Veteran
Liked: 105 times
Full Name: Steve Krause

Re: Upgrading esxi from 5.5 U2 to 6.7 concerns

Post by skrause »