Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
olafurh
Service Provider
Liked: 16 times
Full Name: Olafur Helgi Haraldsson

Largest volumes - are we just scared?

Post by olafurh »

Hi,

I have been using Veeam for a few years+++ and I would like to know what other people are doing with repositories.

One question which I get a lot from my customer and my collages is what is the max size of a volume you would go with.

Back in the days, I would not recommend anything over 20-64TB using NTFS /l mainly because of the issue of moving data around, but with more mature filesystems, and now overcoming performance limitations in ReFS and introduction of common 25-100Gbit/s ethernet I'm seeing the opportunity to grow volumes even bigger (512TB-1PB) to gain as much performance and savings (block clone) using ReFS.

What are your thoughts about the one terabyte to one gigabyte of RAM ratio in repositories, for example, RAM is cheap today and it's not an issue to put a 1TB of ram in a repository server running 1PB of storage but is it really needed?

Why should we split a multi TB/PB raid60 array up in multiple storage volumes just to serve an "old" limitation of a filesystem, just because?

olafurh
Mike Resseler
Product Manager
Liked: 1263 times
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Largest volumes - are we just scared?

Post by Mike Resseler »

Olafur,