Host-based backup of VMware vSphere VMs.
pasha
Novice
Liked: never

Trying Linux file restore FLR Helper Appliance

Post by pasha »

Hi, I'm new to Veeam so please excuse my ignorance here:

Trying to test file-level restore to a Linux VM. I am able to spin up the FLR Helper Appliance successfully, however, I keep getting prompted for credentials. To make sure there were no issues with credentials or connectivity, I was able to log directly into the appliance and connect successfully to the target VM with the same credentials I put in the GUI. The log files on the appliance aren't giving me any indication of an error when I attempt a restore. Is there somewhere else I can look to see what is going on? Is there something else I can check or something I'm missing?

Thanks very much in advance.
PTide
Product Manager
Liked: 729 times

Re: Trying Linux file restore FLR Helper Appliance

Post by PTide »

Hi,

It is not quite clear what went wrong - did you input guest OS credentials in UI but it didn't work? If so then please check if the password authentication via ssh is enabled on the guest OS.

Thanks
pasha
Novice

Post by pasha »

Thank you for responding. Wouldn't being able to ssh to the VM w/ a password, directly from the appliance shell, indicate that password authentication via ssh is enabled on the VM?
PTide
Product Manager

Post by PTide »

Wouldn't being able to ssh to the VM w/ a password, directly from the appliance shell, indicate that password authentication via ssh is enabled on the VM?
Sorry, I missed the part where you explicitly mentioned that you successfully connected from the appliance. So, did I get it right - after you entered the credentials in the UI nothing happens and no errors are shown neither on VBR, nor in the appliance? Are there any failed login attempts messages on the VM where you're attempting to restore the files?

Thanks
pasha
Novice

Post by pasha »

I apologize for lack of clarity: