Standalone backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)
rcrussell78
Novice
Liked: never

Image File Size alot larger after updating image file

Post by rcrussell78 »

Good Morning,

I'm new to using Veeam along with the community which I'm just joining.

I'm working with an existing Veeam image which has Windows 10 on it with a 476 GB hard drive with 300 GB used. The image file I'm working with is 44 GB in size and I'm able to image the Dell workstation I'm working with. I went through a process of updating this image with some software updates for some of the applications on it. I successfully created an updated image using the Veeam Backup agent Version 2.2.0.589 however this is where my issue is.

The original image file as I mentioned is 44 GB in size and takes approximately a half hour to image a computer. The new image file is 140 GB in size and is taking an hour and a half to image. The software updates I did were not that major big in size. Also this original image was created over a year ago and there were no notes on how it was created. I have created three test images using the three different methods on the Veeam agent and all are about the same size of 140 GB. I also have tried the high and extreme compression methods which shrunk the size of the image 20 GB but my concern is that using this compression on an image can cause high CPU utilization.

I have opened Veeam Support - Case # 03158494 in regards to this matter and waiting to hear back from Veeam but wanted to join this community to see if possibly anyone reading this may offer another suggestion as to what I may be missing since I'm new to using Veeam. Thanks for any assistance you can offer in advance.
Dima P.
Product Manager
Liked: 1568 times
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Image File Size alot larger after updating image file

Post by Dima P. »

Hello and welcome to the community rcrussell78.