Standalone backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)
Anakha56
Novice
Liked: never

Understanding Veeam Agent Backups: Does this look correct?

Post by Anakha56 »

Hello All,

So I am new to the world of Veeam but from what I have read and seen it is better than what I am used when compared to Symantec/Veritas products. My difficulty is understanding how the backups works to achieve my goal at the end. What I am wanting to achieve is a Daily, Weekly, Monthly, Yearly setup where once a week/month/year a copy is stored on USB drives named after the interval. The backups will be going to a NAS drive and yes I am well aware that it is not the preferred storage medium but when you are a small business you make do with what you can afford.

My understanding of Veeam is that if I specify 7 days of retention points Monday to Saturday it will do retention point backups and then on every Sunday of the week a full backup will then take all retention points into one full backup and then removing the old retention points ready to start again on Monday. Is this correct? If it is correct then every Monday I could then copy the last full backup to USB for offline storage for Weekly. Then the first new Monday of every month I do the same thing for Monthly. Then for Yearly the first available full active, be it manual or scheduled.

Should I rather be looking to making synthetic weekly backups on a Saturday with a full active backup every first Sunday of the month? Reading the KB articles is helpful but I find it easier to understand if I have an active discussion :).
PTide
Product Manager
Liked: 724 times

Re: Understanding Veeam Agent Backups: Does this look correct?

Post by PTide »

Hi,