Discussions related to exporting backups to tape and backing up directly to tape.
tinto1970
Veeam Legend
Liked: 32 times
Full Name: Alessandro T.

Totally new (and desperate) to tape libraries

Post by tinto1970 »

hi all,

it's my very first time i have to work with a tape library, and it's really difficult for me to find tips and understand basic concepts. :shock:
I've read the offical documentation but for a newbie is hard to understand which kind of jobs use, how manage tapes, how to pick them up to store in a different location and so on. Especially concetps like "media pool", "media set" and "media vault" are not as clear.

My library has 7 slots (1 used by the cleaning) in LTO-8 (10 TB per tape).
My Veeam repository is, at the moment 13 TB (Veeam One says: Full 8.5 TB, Increment 4.5 TB). I guess 1 Tape can contain 'everything'.
I have bought 8 Tapes.

My primary goal at the moment would be something like this:
- every sunday i copy the last full restore points to tape
- every first monday of the month, i extract the tape and store it as "monthly", i insert the previous used "monthly" and i start overwriting.
- every first monday of the year, i extract the tape and store it as "yearly".

Is the GFS Job the correct one for this? I guess so.

P.S.: the Library is already connected (FC via switch) to the Tape Server. The Tape Server is a physical machine, the backup files are hosted on the same machine: this should allow tape jobs to be "lan free".

Thanks in advance for any help/link/clarification

... i have created a job with these settings

Weekly backup: Sunday
Monthly backup: First Sunday of the month
Quarterly: disabled
Yearly: First Sunday of the year

I also set up to eject media upon completion and to export media sets (it's also difficult to understand the difference between these two options).

Am i on the right path?
Alessandro aka Tinto | VMCE 2024 | Veeam Legend | VCP-DCV 2023 | VVSPHT2023 | vExpert 2024
blog.tinivelli.com
tinto1970
Veeam Legend