Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
cityofsj
Lurker
Liked: never
Full Name: Ryan Reynado

can't launch multiple veeam consoles

Post by cityofsj »

Hi All,

I'm a newbie to this product and I have a simple question: How can I launch multiple veeam consoles through different login credentials? I mean that we have a veeam software installed on a server, and we want multiple admins to be able to launch a veeam console through their own active directory credentials. So far, a veeam console can only be launched by single user. In other words, once a veeam console is occupied by 1 admin, the rest can't launch it through their login credential. Any ideas or is this a product's limitation?

Thanks,
-Chris
Gostev
Chief Product Officer
Liked: 6648 times

Re: can't launch multiple veeam consoles

Post by Gostev »

Hi Ryan, you need a registry key to enable multi-user access to the same console. Please contact support to obtain it. Thanks.
grauwej
Novice
Full Name: Joris Grauwels

Post by grauwej »

Would it be possible to post the procedure on how to enable multi-user access to the same console? I've the same issue, and I guess I'm not alone with this. Or is there a better way to do the administration of Veeam Backup and Replication with multiple administrators? (I thought Enterprise manager would be the way to go, but it only offers reporting and monitoring functionality as far as I can see)
Gostev
Chief Product Officer

Post by Gostev »

I am not posting the registry key on forums only because this functionality is not fully tested or officially supported (works fine though, according to feedback). We would also like to track customers receiving and applying this workaround.
chamdor
Influencer
Liked: 1 time

Post by chamdor »

I should mention the registry key work around doesn't seem to work consistently when running Veeam ( This is 5.0.1 ) in a Server 2008 R2 VM. I had a customer report this, and experienced the same issue. I haven't fully explored why.