Host-based backup of VMware vSphere VMs.
BruceLee
Influencer
Liked: never

Best practice RDX

Post by BruceLee »

Hi everybody,

and sorry if this has been asked million times. But I cannot find anything regarding this topic and I'm a novice with Veeam.
I'm backing up 2 VMs from a standalone ESXi 6.7U1. The backup stores to local repository on local disk on the backup server where Veeam is also installed.
Each night the backup runs perfectly.
Now I have setup a Backup copy job to copy the backups (NOT the VMs again) from the local repo to the local attached RDX.
I have set it to run later in the night and also setup an afterjob script to eject the RDX drive (reasons: encryption protection, user who changes RDXs daily knows that he can remove and replace it). The copy job is set to "rotated" and I have set registry key ForceDeleteBackupFiles to 3.
I have also set VMwareOverrideApiVersion 6.7.1=6.7

Now I get tons of errors and emails alerts regarding the copy job. I think its only because the RDX is ejected.
-Failed job >> Cannot connect to target backup repository.
-Repo: Disk space warning
How to get rid of it?
How to set the copy job to only run once after the initial backup? best way would be a trigger on success of the initial job and no schedule at all.

Thanks a lot and kind regards
Dima P.
Product Manager
Liked: 1568 times
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Best practice RDX

Post by Dima P. »

Hello,
The copy job is set to "rotated" and I have set registry key
Please review How to configure Veeam for rotated media Kb article to make sure your setup is correct.
Now I get tons of errors and emails alerts regarding the copy job. I think its only because the RDX is ejected.
There is no way to eliminate the job failure if there is no drive in the RDX system: with rotated drive repository configuration described in the KB article you can swap the underlying drives without any issues but device must be connected by the time backup job kicks in. Cheers!
BruceLee