Discussions related to exporting backups to tape and backing up directly to tape.
bhagen
Expert
Liked: 29 times

Need training to implement tape jobs...

Post by bhagen »

I worked with tapes back in the day (1996), when that was the best option. But I've been using Veeam and no tapes since about 2013.

Now I have a requirement to do yearly archiving to tape of our VMWare VMs (and that's expanded to quarterlies, too).

But I'm honestly just not "getting" the whole "media pool" and "backup to tape" / "file to tape" schema in VBR9.5, and the written documentation just isn't doing it for me.

Is there a *recent* video, or a set of videos, in English, that any of you know about, that basically goes from the fundamentals thru the advanced use of tapes for archiving? Maybe my google-ninja search skills are lacking, but I can find nothing but videos from 2015 and farther back, none of which tell me what I need to know.

Any help would be great; thanks!
bhagen
Expert

[Merged] How to test "backup to tape" jobs?

Post by bhagen »

I didn't know if I should make this a separate post, or add it to my "need training" post, so mods, feel free to move this if it's more appropriate there.

We've got our normal, onsite, VBR backup scheme working quite well, backing up our vmware environment to a local repository.

The next phase is to configure secondary destinations for each of those jobs. The secondary destination being a repository located at our DR location.

The third phase is to do yearly and quarterly archiving of those secondary jobs to tape.

I have the DR site setup now with the secondary repository: a 2016 server with a 126TB ReFS partition formatted w/64k blocks, and a TS4300 tape library attached to it. That server is setup in Veeam as the tape server, and I can manipulate the tape library thru Veeam (move tapes around, create/delete media sets, erase tapes, etc.).