Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
jprovine@bradley.edu
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Janelle Provine

Year old file

Post by jprovine@bradley.edu »

I am new to veeam and I need to know how to search for a file that maybe up to a year old.
Gostev
Chief Product Officer
Liked: 6648 times

Re: Year old file

Post by Gostev »

If you had guest file system indexing enabled for the corresponding job, you can do that in the Enterprise Manager under Files tab.
jprovine@bradley.edu
Novice

I checked the job and Enabled guest file system indexing does not appear to be turned on for the job in question
Gostev
Chief Product Officer
Liked: 6648 times

Post by Gostev »

In that case, I am afraid the only option here is to take the best guess of restore points that can have the required file available, and mount them one by one to search for the file.
jprovine@bradley.edu
Novice

Wow that could take forever and the tape I need might also in written over before I find it LOL thanks
ejenner
Veteran
Liked: 100 times
Full Name: EJ

Post by ejenner »

I've asked about this before. I think this is what you'd call a 'catalogue' in a traditional tape-based backup. The catalogue existed because access time to the media was slow. So there had to be a way of knowing where the file is so you could load the right tape first time.

Another related issue is when the user does not know the name of the file they want and the current copy has been deleted. That situation also requires mounting various backup files to try to find the file you're looking for.

A catalogue would be a nice feature to have. Deleted files would have to be shown in a different colour or with a special icon so one catalogue could display all recoverable files even if they were not in the most recent backup.
jprovine@bradley.edu
Novice

I suspected I would have to load tapes in order to even look for the file that needs to be recovered, again this seems like it will be very time consuming
tsightler