Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
ilovepancakes
Influencer
Liked: never
Full Name: Chris Tucci

Basic backup scheme setup

Post by ilovepancakes »

I am new to Veeam and backup schemes. Looking to implement the following backup strategy but would take suggestions on better ideas too. What is the best combination of settings and jobs in order to make the following happen?

1st: hourly backups for the past 72 hours.

2nd: daily backups for past month.

3rd: monthly backups after that for 3 months.
Dima P.
Product Manager
Liked: 1568 times
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Basic backup scheme setup

Post by Dima P. »

Hello and welcome to the community Chris!

May I ask what type of data are you planning to protect (VMs, physical machines or maybe files to tape media)? Thank you in advance.
ilovepancakes
Influencer

Post by ilovepancakes »

Thank you. Just VMs for now. It would also be great to implement S3 object storage into the above setup for the daily and monthly backups so they stay safe on the cloud.
foggy
Veeam Software
Liked: 2115 times
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Post by foggy »

You can create a regular backup job with hourly schedule that will keep 72 restore points and the backup copy job with daily copy interval that will use backups created by the first job to keep 30 daily restore points in a secondary repository. In the backup copy job enable GFS retention to keep 4 monthly points. For the cloud backups, consider using scale-out backup repository and its Capacity Tier.
ilovepancakes
Influencer

Post by ilovepancakes »

OK, I think I know how to set that all up, however my assumption was to create the regular backup job, telling it to store the backups on a local drive, then tell the backup copy job to use the S3 object storage as it's storage method. 2 issues though...

1.) If I have the local drive added to a created SOBR, it won't show up as a destination for the regular backup copy job. Only the SOBR shows....