Discussions related to exporting backups to tape and backing up directly to tape.
StefanNL
Influencer
Liked: never

Selective data to tape from GFS backup copy job

Post by StefanNL »

Hi all,

I'm still learning about Veeam so sorry if I ask stupid questions but I can't find what I want to do so I'm just going to go ahead and ask it here.

We have a very large repository filled with mostly weekly, monthly and yearly backup copy job data on disk.
I would like to only save the monthly and yearly data *_M* and *_Y* files to tape via the files to tape method and create media pools that reflect the required retention period for said files.

My question is, is there a relationship between the other files in a backup copy job repository folder that would prevent me from restoring from these _M and _Y files if I save only those files and if so, what files are these? Do I need to save all the _W files as well? I'm trying to prevent the writing of many TB's to tape that I will never be using.

Thanks in advance
veremin
Product Manager
Liked: 2258 times
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Selective data to tape from GFS backup copy job

Post by veremin » 1 person likes this post

No dependencies, those files are independent full backups that can be restored separately. Thanks!
StefanNL
Influencer

Post by StefanNL »

Thank you, that's good to know!
veremin
Product Manager
Liked: 2258 times
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Post by veremin »

You're welcome. Should other help be needed, let us know. Thanks!
kentsu
Novice
Full Name: Kenneth

Post by kentsu »