Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
ilovepancakes
Influencer
Liked: never
Full Name: Chris Tucci

Looking for basic direction on setting up simple backup strategy

Post by ilovepancakes »

Hi all,

I'm new to Veeam and have already reviewed all the relevant KB articles per some advice from a previous post I made here but for the life of me cannot get the backup strategy I want to work correctly. I do know my way around the Veeam interface so I am simply looking for input on the basic tasks I need to do to make the following work (i.e. create these 2 types of jobs, set this one to run xx times every yy days, set the other to use this setting with this variable, and have it run every z hour at w interval, set this one to make these types of full backups every so often, set these GFS settings to, check this box, etc...) It doesn't need to be step by step again, as I know where to find everything in the interface for the most part. And the repositories I already have setup so can start right from the stage of creating jobs.

Then, at least if I know my jobs are setup right to do what I want I can actually ask intelligent questions if it still isn't working. Here is what I want to make happen. I am running Enterprise Plus so I do have access to all features needed for SOBR, etc...

1 vSphere Host with 11 VMs to backup

-Backup all VMs hourly to a local repository on the backup proxy, and maintain 72 hours worth of these hourly backups
-Keep daily backups of all VMs for 30 days
-After that, keep weekly backups of all VMs for 3 months
-After that, keep monthly backups for 12 months
-After that, keep yearly backups for 3 years