Host-based backup of Microsoft Hyper-V VMs.
tomnewman
Enthusiast
Liked: 5 times
Full Name: Tom Newman

Surebackup not meeting my needs

Post by tomnewman »

I've been told I'm a Neanderthal for still doing full periodic backups so, amongst the other suggested checks, I'm trying to get Surebackup to work in my environment. I'm new to it so I may well be missing something or misunderstanding something but there doesn't seem to be a very straightforward way to achieve what I need in my environment.

We Currently run 16 VMs (mostly Windows but a few Linux). They run in three different VLANs but they all use one one Virtual switch (VLAN id is set on the Network Adapter properties for wach VM). This seems to be my first problem because, if my understanding is correct, I can't setup an Isolated Network for each of the VLANs in one Virtual Lab because they are all running on the same virtual switch and this is not allowed. The only way to make this work is to have a separate Virtual Lab for each VLAN and then run (at least) three different Surebackup jobs (for servers in each VLAN). Is my understanding correct?

When I setup my first SureBackup job I did it as an application group which worked fine with a few test servers. However, I realised that what I actually needed was Linked Jobs because I would run out of memory checking more than a few servers as they aren't shut down until the whole job finishes. Would be nice to have the option to change this on a server by server basis.

So, I changed to Linked Jobs but there seems to be no way to exclude servers that were included in a backup. Am I wrong? I keep thinking that there must be a way but I can't find it. I can think of several reasons why you would want to exclude VMs but particularly in my environment I have to exclude VMs that aren't in the same VLAN as the Virtual Lab or they fail heartbeat and ping (wrong VLAN).