Monitoring and reporting for Veeam Data Platform
newVguy
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Robert Tien

Veeam ONE and Veeam Backup & Replication share a SQL Server DB

Post by newVguy »

Hi,

I am new to Veeam software and we are tasked to setup a Veeam environment for our project. It's recommend to install Veeam ONE before Veeam Backup and Replication. Both of these components are required to connect to the SQL Server database instance. My question is can both of these components share the same SQL Server database instance? Note: We are "NOT" using local SQL server express. What is the best practice of setting this up?

Thanks,

Robert Tien, GD-IT
PTide
Product Manager
Liked: 724 times

Re: Veeam ONE and Veeam Backup & Replication share a SQL Server DB

Post by PTide » 1 person likes this post

Hi,

Veeam ONE and Veeam can share a database server (mind the requirements though, for Veeam ONE too), however you cannot make them share a database instance.

Thanks!
Shestakov
Veteran
Liked: 781 times
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Post by Shestakov » 1 person likes this post

Hi Robert and welcome to the community!
What's the approximate size of your infrastructure(VM, hosts number)? Depending on that you may need SQL Express or Standard editions which can be installed on same server with Veeam ONE server or separately.
Thanks!
newVguy
Novice

Post by newVguy »

Our infrastructure consists of approximately 400 VMs, 40 hosts and 80 datastores. We are planning to use a remote SQL server Standard or Enterprise Edition. Would you recommend as best practice to create a separate SQL DB instance for the Veeam Backup and Replication component or create a new database in the Veeam One SQL Server DB instance?

Thanks!
Shestakov
Veteran

Post by Shestakov »

Indeed Express edition doesn't fit your infrastructure as it has 10GB limitation. You can calculate the approximate size of data to be kept in database with DB calculator.