Discussions related to exporting backups to tape and backing up directly to tape.
perjonsson1960
Veteran
Liked: 44 times
Full Name: Per Jonsson

Tape backup scenarios

Post by perjonsson1960 »

Folks,

We are backing up our servers daily through backup jobs to a scale-out repository, and we are also doing backup copies daily of all the backups to another scale-out repository at a different physical location. Now we have installed a tape library as well, a HPE MSL6480 with room for 70 tapes, and we have two LTO-8 drives.

Since I am new to this, how should I go about doing backups to tape? Basically we want to copy the backup copy chains from disk to tape. Some of the backup copy jobs use GFS policies. If I want to copy the GFS chains to tape, do I need a GFS Media Pool in order to maintain a GFS retention policy on tape?

And what about copies that do not use GFS, that have for example only a standard seven day retention period? Can I put those in a Standard Media Pool?

Bottom line, do I need to divide the tape library into, for example, one GFS pool and one Standard pool in order to pull this off?

Sincerely,
Per Jonsson
Sweden
Dima P.
Product Manager
Liked: 1568 times
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Tape backup scenarios

Post by Dima P. »

Hello Per,

To cut the long story short you have to options:

1. File to tape jobs. Can be used to copy files from file shares or full backup files.
2. Backup to tape jobs. Should be used to write backup files to tape (as it provides tight integration with source jobs)
If I want to copy the GFS chains to tape, do I need a GFS Media Pool in order to maintain a GFS retention policy on tape?
Retention in backup copy and retention in tape jobs are completely independent from each other. You can use simple media pool and backup all the backup copy jobs to tape with simple retention schema for your tape media within this media pool. Another option is to use GFS media pool and organize tape media retention based on GFS schema.