Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
tthomas1@ebsco.com
Expert
Liked: 10 times
Full Name: Tim Thomas

Need to Reduce Space Used by Veeam Backups

Post by tthomas1@ebsco.com »

Hello,

I am a Veeam newbie (just a few months in) so I'm hoping someone here has encountered my issue. We are trying to spec out an older Dell server to ship to one of our company's small offices to be a Veeam backup server. We want to do 14 days' retention (1 full + 6 incremental per week) which should take ~16 TB of space. If we add some space for growth, in theory, we need ~18 - 20 TB on the Veeam backup server. However, I'm aware that Veeam has to retain the first 7 days' worth of backups for all but the last day of week #3 since it can only delete an entire chain, not individual day's backups. Retaining that extra week's worth adds a lot to our requirements. We would need ~24 TB + room for growth, so ~26 - 28 TB. We're trying to only buy what we really need as this office is on a tight budget. Does anyone have suggestions for how to configure the backup to truly retain only two week's worth of content? Would appreciate any advice!
foggy
Veeam Software
Liked: 2115 times
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Need to Reduce Space Used by Veeam Backups

Post by foggy »

Hi Tim, take a look at the forever forward incremental backup method, it will take only the space required for the number of restore points you specify. Also, here's a helpful tool for space calculation - should be handy.
tthomas1@ebsco.com
Expert

Thank you foggy! The space calculator is especially helpful. Regarding forever forward, isn't that approach a little risky? What if the initial full or any backup in the chain gets corrupted? I did read some of the Backup & Replication documentation on this, so I do see there are safeguards, but nonetheless would like to hear more about this!
Gostev
Chief Product Officer
Liked: 6648 times

Post by Gostev »