Host-based backup of VMware vSphere VMs.
TitaniumCoder477
Veteran
Liked: 48 times
Full Name: James Wilmoth

Historical question about virtualization

Post by TitaniumCoder477 »

Greetings,

I have a lot of experience with Veeam but only over the past five years when I started working with it every business day of my life!

A question was raised recently if Veeam has ever had the ability to virtualize (Instant VM recovery or other) without a VMware host?

(Obviously, if Veeam is running on a Hyper-V host, it can virtualize from backups to itself.)

My understanding and experience with Veeam leads me to believe there was never a time in Veeam's life when it could virtualize from backups without a host, but I am interested to know what someone from Veeam would say. If there was a time, I would like to know when this changed.

Thanks!
Andreas Neufert
VP, Product Management
Liked: 1408 times
Full Name: Andreas Neufert

Re: Historical question about virtualization

Post by Andreas Neufert »

For a VMware VM you need a VMware ESXi/ESX host to Instant VM Restore a VM
For Hyper VM you need a Hyper-V host to do Instant VM Recovery
There is an option to do Instant VM Recovery from an Agent to a Hyper-V host.

In case of standard VM restore you have the same option but can for example "Direct Restore to Azure" or Direct Restore to AWS".

There was never a way to run a VM just by itself on the backup server if there was no virtualization host.
Gostev
Chief Product Officer
Liked: 6703 times

Post by Gostev »

I would say the correct answer to this question is YES: specifically, the feature of instant recovery of any image-level backup as a Hyper-V VM, which was primarily designed to enable users to instantly restore agent-based physical server or workstation backups.
TitaniumCoder477
Veteran