Agent-based backup of Windows, Linux, Max, AIX and Solaris machines.
dc-fan
Novice
Liked: 1 time
Full Name: Florian

Bare Metal Restore of B&R Physical Hardware only

Post by dc-fan »

Hello,

i am quite new with Veeam and have some questions:

There is:
Physical Server with Win2016 (( no VMS) , just a simple singular Server with AD, DC, DNS,DHCP , SQL etc.
I installed the new Community Edition of B&R, everythings seems to work like i need it ,but i thought about, if for single physical Server the Veem Agent Free is not the better option?
I created some Backup Jobs ( Backup is only on on USB external Drives) in B&R and it works so far

My question is:
I created the Recovery Media.iso out of B&R.
Could i do the bare metal recovery of the Server WHERE THE B&R IS INSTALLED ( its only 1 Server for everything as i mentioned) with that Recovery Media and my external USB Drives like with the Veeam Agent or what would happen if my Server with B&R installed would die?
I saw the Option of Backup the B&R Config to external Drives in the Settings of B&R, but do i really need it for Bare Metal Recovery Case?

I read everywhere that for this Scenario the Veeam Agent free is better Option, but Veeam says that Community Edition is the legitimate follo-up Product of the free with more Options.

Whats is your opinion about it ?
It would be great if somebody of the Veeam Professionals would anwser that , think some others Customers wanna know this too.
HannesK
Product Manager
Liked: 2880 times
Full Name: Hannes Kasparick

Re: Bare Metal Restore of B&R Physical Hardware only

Post by HannesK »

Hello,
you don't need B&R community edition - Veeam Agent For Windows free edition with external drive should be fine for you . The only advantage I would see in your case is, that you could use the explorers for AD and SQL.

Please don't install B&R on your existing server :-)

Details about bare metal recovery with free edition

Best regards,
Hannes
dc-fan
Novice
Liked: 1 time