Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
atmarx
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: andrew

Speed sanity check

Post by atmarx »

Hi folks --

I'm new to Veeam, and am trying it out to see if it's a better fit for my 100TB of data than (gulp) DPM.

I've got a Dell R730 with good procs and 96GB of RAM tied to a Dell MD3460 disk array via 4x 12Gbps SAS connections (MPIO configured as RRws, 2 active). I've got this server wired directly to the file server via two bonded 10Gb links (Intel 520 card in each). The storage server is connected to another MD3460 with the same setup (except 160GB of RAM on that host). Each of the arrays is 210TB made up of 58 8TB NL SAS drives in RAID 10.

I got Veeam set up with defaults, and started the job, and the speeds fluctuated a bit but eventually settled around 250MBps. Given that I know the arrays can pump data close to 8-900MBps and the connection should be able to put through at least 1GBps, I'm stuck feeling like 250MBps is... not optimal. I tried compression from dedupe compatible to max, but roughly the same throughput.

I've tried reworking the stripe size on the backup storage array (originally at 256kb, tried 512kb) to no effect (well, sort of -- now I've got a 100 hour background initialization job :roll: ) It was worth it, because the array was originally configured without drawer loss protection, so at least I got that out of it 8)

Given the storage specs, am I missing some magical combination that'll get me closer to 500MBps? The two VMs have attached VHDXs totalling 40TB and 80TB -- should I be using the 8MB Veeam blocks instead of the default 1MB?