Discussions related to exporting backups to tape and backing up directly to tape.
meggerz
Influencer
Liked: never
Full Name: Megan Gee

Tape drive associations

Post by meggerz »

Hello Everybody,

I'm fairly new to Veeam and currently running Veeam B&R 9.5U4 and have two tape drives for backups to tape (both the same). I have different media pools setup on each drive and currently if drive one's tape fills up it will not fail over and continue on drive two's tape. I'm assuming that this is because of the different media pools or media sets setup on each of the drives. For example, if I take a backup that was run in tape drive 1 and try and do a restore from tape drive 2 Veeam will not recognize the tape and I cannot proceed with the restore.

I'm really not sure how these drives are associated or not associated. Is it the media pool? Is it the media set? Or the separate tape drives themselves that cause this behavior?

I would like to have it setup so that if tape drive one fills up it will fail over to tape drive two and continue. Also I would like to be able to restore all tapes from either drive in case one drive is in use when a restore is requested. My final concern is the pre existing backups and if I make changes I need to make sure that the drives can still read and acknowledge these tapes and associated media pools/sets.

Any advice on the best way to accomplish this would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
Dima P.
Product Manager
Liked: 1568 times
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Tape drive associations

Post by Dima P. »

Hello meggerz.
For example, if I take a backup that was run in tape drive 1 and try and do a restore from tape drive 2 Veeam will not recognize the tape and I cannot proceed with the restore.
Can you please clarify the generation of these drives (i.e. are you talking about absolutely identical devices or not)? Any chance you are using hardware encryption on these drives?