Host-based backup of VMware vSphere VMs.
borgiaj
Enthusiast
Liked: 5 times
Full Name: Joe Borgia

New Veeam Deployment

Post by borgiaj »

Hello everyone.

I'm new with managing Veeam and come from mainly a traditional disk-to-tape or disk-to-disk-to tape background. I've taken a bunch of the online training, watched various youtube videos, and I'm trying to wrap my head around things. We have a very small VMware environment - 14 Linux/UNIX systems and 11 Windows systems. So far, I've managed to get this up and running, and things seem to be going well, likely because the environment is so small. We're not doing anything overly complicated with Veeam at this point other than backing up the VMs and having them available for file-level recoveries and such if needed. No replication or anything (yet). The Veeam server itself is a Server 2016 VM. All of the VMs are backed up to large local disks attached to the Veeam server. I have one large file server that we're doing tape jobs on, because that is the customer requirement as well, also for the sake of space on the array we're backing up to. I guess I have some very basic questions.

Backup Proxy - my understanding of this is that it offloads work from the main Veeam server for processing. Do they require their own backup repositories to shoulder the load of storage. The directly attached volumes to the Veeam server VM makes that particular VM huge. Would I even need proxies for backing up such a small number of VMs?

Service Account - most of everything I have setup with Veeam has been setup with my personal administrator account in AD, which just seems to be not the best way. Are people using service accounts to manage their Veeam environments?