Host-based backup of VMware vSphere VMs.
wayneus
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Wayne Zhao

Cisco UCS C240M5 Backup Repository Design

Post by wayneus »

Hi all,

I'm new to Veeam. Hopefully this is a quick question for you guys.

We just purchased a Cisco UCS C240M5 rackmount server as a performance tier of scale-out repository (capacity tier is Azure Blob Storage). The specs is:
2 x 250GB SSD for OS
12 x 14TB SAS HDD for storage
OS is Windows 2016 Datacenter

The overall size backup data is around 40TB. My question is, from performance perspective, what is the best practice to present volumes for use as backup repository. Is it better to:
1. Present one large 12x14TB volume. All backup jobs go to one repo.
2. Present smaller volumes, for example two 6x14TB. Half backup jobs backup to first one, and the other half backup to second one.

I would like to hear your advice. Thank you very much in advance for your time and help.
DeadEyedJacks
Veeam ProPartner
Liked: 26 times
Full Name: Dead-Data

Re: Cisco UCS C240M5 Backup Repository Design

Post by DeadEyedJacks »

What Veeam licensing do you have?
i.e. Can you use one or more Scale-Out Backup Repositories?

With a physical Windows server as Backup Repo you can use Microsoft ReFs file system for significant space savings.
What's the largest VM and VMDK you need to protect ?

Which Cisco UCS SAS / RAID controller have you specified? Determines you options for JBOD or RAID levels.
ejenner
Veteran
Liked: 100 times
Full Name: EJ

Post by ejenner »