Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
arosas
Enthusiast
Liked: 10 times
Full Name: Tony Rosas

Linking backup jobs

Post by arosas »

I'm looking for ideas on how to build a backup job that use the "After this Job" function under schedule and also scripts or maybe some other method? (i'm a novice when it comes to scripting but i can possibly figure it out)
Here's what I would like to have happen but not sure how to go about it.

SERVER1 and SERVER2 stop local service and kill a local running task.
Once completed (2 seconds), SERVER3 and SERVER4 stop local service and kill a local running task.
Local script runs to move log files from one local location to another local location on SERVER1-4.
Backup SERVER1-4 starts
Backup SERVER5 (SQL) starts
(SERVER1-5 can all backup at the same time)
Once backup for SERVER1-5 completes,
Start local service SERVER3 and SERVER4
Wait 5 seconds
Start local service on SERVER1 and SERVER2

This seems like it may not be doable but thought I would ask.
Thanks
Egor Yakovlev
Veeam Software
Liked: 680 times
Full Name: Egor Yakovlev

Re: Linking backup jobs

Post by Egor Yakovlev »

Greetings Tony!

Seems like quite achievable task to me! You will need to make 2 scripts and put them into your backup job. Veeam will execute them for you.
Let me clear this process out:
- script will run all preparation steps before backup
- have 1 backup job(you said SERVER1-5 can be backed up simultaneously)
- script will start services back after backup completes

- Have a PowerShell script "Prepare_to_backup.ps1" that will:
1. Get-Service | Stop-Service for that service you mentioned on SERVER1 and SERVER2
2. Get-Process | Stop-Process to kill that running task on your SERVER1 and SERVER2
3. Start-Sleep for a few seconds
4. same for SERVER3 and SERVER4
5. Move-Item to move your logs around

- Have a PowerShell script "Restart_services _back.ps1" that will:
1. Get-Service | Start-Service on SERVER3-4
2. Start-Sleep