Standalone backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)
Keeran
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Elankeeran Raveendran

"the process cannot access the file" Message when restoring a PC

Post by Keeran »

I am new to Veeam and in the learning phase. A file backup could be restored without any problems but when I tried to copy Backup-file of a pc to another pc (I backuped an entire pc and tried to copy that to another pc), I got at some point many messages regarding that "the process cannot access the file because it is used by another process." and everytime I should click on "OK" in order to not cancel the restoring Process. Is there any clever way to fix it?
ejenner
Veteran
Liked: 100 times
Full Name: EJ

Re: "the process cannot access the file" Message when restoring a PC

Post by ejenner »

Sounds like you might be trying to restore over a live system if you're getting warnings about 'file in use'

As I understand it, from conducting my own bare metal restores... Veeam does not want you to do that and usually prevents it. It sounds like you might have found a way of working around the controls which usually prevent it.

So are you restoring a C: drive backup onto a C: drive on a running system somehow?

Truthfully, if this is what's happening the quality of the recovered system tends to be very poor if there is a mixture of new and old files on the C: drive. That is files which were in use at the time of the restoration which couldn't be overwritten during the restore and some new files which were successfully written.

I suppose a good question would be 'what are you trying to do'
Keeran
Novice

Post by Keeran »

You are right. I was finding out, whether it is possible to make a backup of a pc(all the volumes) and copy that onto another running pc, so that i can have a second pc with the same datas.