Standalone backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)
ghines
Influencer
Liked: never

Backup Question

Post by ghines »

Hi all,

I'm new to Veeam and have a couple of questions I hope can be answered.

I have a laptop with W10 Home that gets used a couple of times a week, and I want to backup to an external USB HDD about once a week. The laptop usage frequency is very random. I've setup Veeam as follows:

Entire Computer
Local Storage
Keep Backups for 4 days
Create active full backup first Monday of the Month
Maintenance - Nothing checked
Data Compression - Optimal
Storage Optimization - Local target
Schedule - Nothing selected

Now this works just fine, except for one thing. If a backup is not done on the first Monday of the Month no active full backup is done and eventually the HDD will fill up.

What's the recommended approach under these circumstances to stop the HDD from filling up?

TIA

Greg
Gostev
Chief Product Officer
Liked: 6648 times

Re: Backup Question

Post by Gostev »

Hi, Greg

From your description, this seems like a bug. Because if the selected day for Active Full backup was missed due to infrequent laptop usage, we should do an Active Full the next time backup job runs. By the way, do you have "Backup once powered on" option selected under daily backup settings?

Thanks!
ghines
Influencer

Post by ghines »

The "daily at" option under Schedule is not selected hence the "Backup once powered on" option is not active.
ghines
Influencer

Post by ghines »

Just to confirm the Active Full scheduled Backups are also not happening for the days of the week. eg: If Saturday is selected and the PC is not turned on until Sunday, the Active Full backup is not done. If however the PC is turned On on Saturday the Active Full backup is completed correctly.