Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
kapple
Enthusiast
Liked: 4 times
Full Name: Ken Applebaum

vMotion VM in Veeam DataLab

Post by kapple »

Hi,

I understand that you can do a staged restore, which utilizes the Veeam DataLab (formerly VirtualLab).
I am wondering if it is possible to vMotion a VM that is running in a Veeam Datalab into production.

The reason I am asking is that I have been running Windows Updates on a VM that is woefully out of date, within a Veeam DataLab (Launched as a SureBackup job). After that, I want to upgrade the OS.
I am most of the way through this process, and now I realize that to use the Staged Restore capabilities of Veeam, I need to initiate a separate restore job. I had thought that after launching a SureBackup job, I could use a staged restore after I made my changes (I need to thoroughly read up on this stuff before I start working on things I have never done before).

I could start over, and just use a "Hello World" script so I can start the staged restore job, do the updates and upgrades I want to do while the DataLab is running, then finish the restore.
This is how it works, correct? The backup will launch in a DataLab, I will be able to make changes to the restored VM, and then finish up the restore job?

However, since I have a SureBackup job that has been running for a couple of days while I work on upgrading the VM, I am hoping there is a method of restoring the VM in the DataLab into production.
Please let me know if this is a valid path forward, or if I need to start from scratch.

Thanks,
Egor Yakovlev
Veeam Software
Liked: 683 times
Full Name: Egor Yakovlev

Re: vMotion VM in Veeam DataLab

Post by Egor Yakovlev » 1 person likes this post

Hi Ken.

Yes, you can simply vMotion said SureBackup'ed VM from Veeam DataLab to production datastore and reconfigure it's vNIC to map it over to respectful production network.