Discussions related to exporting backups to tape and backing up directly to tape.
adam900331
Veteran
Liked: 22 times

Veeam file to tape backup best practice

Post by adam900331 »

Hy!

I am new with Veeam and tape library. I created a backup to local disk of Veeam server. This backup is a forever forward incremental job with 7 restore point. It means there is one .vbk file and six .vib files. I would like to create a file to tape job which archives the backup file from the disk. What is the best practice for it? And how can I schedule the file to tape job? Once a week?

The aim is that the one full backup store one tape, and so...

Thanks.
DGrinev
Veteran
Liked: 247 times
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev

Re: Veeam file to tape backup best practice

Post by DGrinev »

Hey,

The Virtual Full Backup was designed exactly for moving forever forward backup chains to tapes.
Feel free to ask additional questions.

Thanks!
adam900331
Veteran

Post by adam900331 »

I am checking the link and I don't understand what does it mean:

The virtual full does not necessarily need to be scheduled on the day when the tape job runs. When the tape job starts, it synthesizes the source machines state as they were on the chosen day. For example, you can set Friday as the virtual full day, and schedule the tape job to run on Saturday. The tape job will not run on Friday. On Saturday, the tape job will copy blocks of data to reconstruct the state of the machines as they were on Friday (or, if no backup is available for Friday, the closest day preceding Friday).

So can I enable the Active Full backup option on the normal disk backup before I use the file to tape backup?
DGrinev
Veteran

Post by DGrinev »

It means the Virtual full backup schedule isn't initiating the tape job. It only determines the source machines state inside the virtual full backup.
adam900331 wrote: So can I enable the Active Full backup option on the normal disk backup before I use the file to tape backup?