Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
scott_mac
Enthusiast
Liked: 1 time
Full Name: Scott Mckenzie

Some Guidance on Best Practise

Post by scott_mac »

Hi All,

Hopefully some more experienced users can offer me a little guidance. I'm relatively new to the world of Virtual Machines and the backup thereof. We're using VMware Essentials and after a botched attempt to use Backup Exec i've seen the light and have purchased Veeam Essentials.

Basically we have the following environment:

- 2 x ESX hosts
- 5 x VM's hosted on them, 3 x Server 2008 R2 (~300GB each), 1 x Server 2003 SBS (1TB) and a Linux one (2.5GB) for vSphere Mobile Access from my iPad.
- Datastores are all on a Netgear ReadyNAS 3200 in iSCSI mode.
- Onsite backups are to another ReadyNAS (Pro 4) over a LAN
- Offsite backups are to be replicated using Netgear's Replicate application for the ReadyNAS products (this appears to be a shiny front end to rsync!). This will be over a WAN that has a 100Mb circuit for upload and around 20Mb download at the other end due to infrastructure limitations beyond our control.

I've been using Veeam for around 6 weeks for onsite backups only that are then periodically copied to tape for offsite storage - however the time taken to do the tape element lead me to look at the replication of the ReadyNAS environment.

I've read through the FAQ but am still not 100% certain what the best way for me to go is - the main concern being the changes and the replication between the ReadyNAS devices.

Firstly, deduplication is a puzzling one, depending on what you read it seems to suggest grouping all the servers into one job will offer the best dedupe, but at the cost of speed... presently I have one job per server, with a time stagger so there is only ever one running at a time - I opted for this as I felt it was the best precaution for the possibility of the backup failing half way through due to, say, a power cut, which would be bad!