Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
lucius_the
Enthusiast
Liked: 37 times
Full Name: David

Gostev's digest from 16.12.2019 - SMB share repository on a cheap NAS

Post by lucius_the » 5 people like this post

Dear Anton,
First of all, I really enjoy reading your digest. It's become a monday morning ritual for me and I thank you for that ! It's a pleasure and a great example for others in the industry to follow.

Every now and then a thing comes up in your digest, regarding the use of SMB share targets and/or using inexpensive NAS boxes in general. We all know how you feel about that, and I understand that your "feeling" is not merely a feeling, but something that was learned through Veeam support incidents. You're doing a great job of keeping us aware that this is risky. But you're never really explaining the why of it, or the things behind it.

I highly value and respect your opinions, as they come from real experience. But, like you, I'm an engineer-type of person. So on one hand, we don't just go for authority, we also want/need/are programmed to understand the reasoning for something and the details underneath, before we accept and go with it. So that's one part. On the other hand, many of us still have no choice but to use the "cheap NAS" solution for backups + SMB targets.

Yes, iSCSI is available but it comes with it's own set of issues:
  • a share is "shareable", while iSCSI target is not (technically, the target itself is shareable if you also you use a special file system, but we're talking small business customers here, that ones that use a cheap NAS in the first place)