Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
adverse
Lurker
Liked: never

SQL Box Replication and Network Drop Outs

Post by adverse »

Hello,

We are using Veeam to replicate an MSSQL VM but we're getting very slow processing rates. We also see network drop outs when the snapshots are removed at the end of the process.

I appreciate this question has been asked countless times, and I have spent a good few hours trawling through the forum responses, but there appears to be so many variables I'm not sure what actually applies in my specific situation. I'm new to both VMWare and Veeam.

Details:

VM I'm replicating:
Windows 2008 R2
MSSQL 2005
410Gb total size - 25Gb OS Drive, 180Gb SQL data and logs drive, 115Gb SQL backups drive (both db and tran log backups), 90Gb demo environment
As well as the database changes themselves, there are approx 100Gb changes between replications because of the large SQL backup files on the 115Gb disk. This is the disk that the replication seems to hang on for the majority of the job.

VMWare Environment
VMWare ESXi 4
We have two clusters which exist in the same VMWare Datacentre, both with their own SAN. These are in two different buildings on the same site. The buildings are connected by a 1Gb fibre link, which is around 200 meters in length.

Backup Server (this is a VM on the source host)
Veeam 4.1.1
Windows 2008 R2
SQL 2005 Express
4 x vCPU
4Gb RAM
Veeam 4.1.1
Veeam replication Mode is VMWare vStorage API - SAN with failover
CPU and RAM utilisation is low when replication job is running

What's happening: