RESTful knowledge exchange
Stef4o
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Stefano

Backup export via restful API

Post by Stef4o »

Hi, I'm new to Veeam and I'm trying to obtain a backup export (full + incremental backups). I know it's possible from the Administrator console but, I wonder if a Restful API call is available and how it works.

Thank you in advance.

Stefano
benyoung
Veeam Vanguard
Liked: 47 times
Full Name: Ben Young

Re: Backup export via restful API

Post by benyoung » 1 person likes this post

Off the top of my head there is not a direct way to do this via the Restful interface. You can get a list of backup files and could then wrap some additional code once you have those file names to go grab/zip/move/do whatever you intend at this point

Or you could use the powershell cmdlet Export-VBRBackup

https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... ml?ver=100
veremin
Product Manager
Liked: 2252 times
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Post by veremin » 1 person likes this post

Can you describe the use case a bit? Actually, you can simply copy paste backup chain to whatever location you want to and use it however you like. Thanks!
benyoung
Veeam Vanguard

Post by benyoung »

Would have thought that was the easiest, easily driven programmatically all the way by getting the backup files via the EM api and then handling the rest
Stef4o
Novice

Post by Stef4o »

Thank you all for quick replies.

Briefly, the use case:
I'm developing a service web application which monitors a series of remote machines collecting environmental data. Due the fact the software onboard is in continuous developement is mandatory having the machines under backup.
As additional service I'd like to give the opportunity to restore remotely one or more machine, even if the network configuration doesn't permit installing a managed Veeam Agent.