Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
fkondon
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: FELIX K LENEP

Retention questions

Post by fkondon »

Hello,
I am new to Veeam and just installed Weeam backup & Replication 10 on my environment. I want to have the setup as follows:
Mon-Friday take incremental & Saturday take Full.
I wish to take less restore point say 3 so I don't run out of my disk space too quick. We have VMs, Windows, Exchange 2013, SQL servers & Linux servers.
Can someone advise how I can schedule my jobs, I want to create x1 Linux job for x2 Linux servers, x1 Exchange job for x2 exch servers, 1x job for x40 VM servers.

Please also confirm which full backup type (Active 0r Synthetic) and incremental type (Forward or Sureback) I can use for my scenario.

Also explain retention Policy and its Restore points and how they work.

Thanks/Regards
Felix
Egor Yakovlev
Veeam Software
Liked: 683 times
Full Name: Egor Yakovlev

Re: Job Set for 14 Mount Points - 46 exist

Post by Egor Yakovlev » 1 person likes this post

Hi Felix,
for short chains like yours(3 restore points you say?) you will not see much benefit from doing periodic full backup, and you can keep it Forever Forward Incremental backup by disabling all periodic full options in the job settings(Synthetic\Active). Set retention to 3 restore points. That will yield a backup chain with 1 Full + 2 incremental backups. Each day, an efficient incremental backup will be done, moving entire chain up and pruning older data from it.
In terms of explanation how it works, please check respectful User Guide pages, as they have perfect description of the entire process!
/Thanks!
fkondon
Novice

Re: Retention questions

Post by fkondon »

Hi Egor,
Thanks for your response, I want to have 7 restore points, ie Saturday 1st Active Full backup, Mon- Fri incremental, please advise the backup settings for my scenario, ie in terms of Active full, Synthetic and incremental.