ali.swaidan
Novice
Liked: 1 time
Full Name: Ali Swaidan

Protect Veeam Repo from Ransomware

Post by ali.swaidan » 1 person likes this post

Dears,

Hope you're doing well,

This is Ali i'm a VMCE Experienced Certified Engineer. as we all know there's a headache to protect your Backup Repository from Ransomware Attacks on Premises.

to do so, please follow the below scenario.

Requirement
1- Windows Server 2008 R2 SP1 and above.
2- Enable File Server Resource Manager Role.

Instructions:

1- Install Veeam Backup & Replication
2- Go to Server Manager.
3- Click on Manage
4- Click on Add Roles.
5- Select File Server Resource Manager
6- Finalize the installation.
7- Open File Server Resource Manager from Server Manager or Start Menu
8- Expand File Screening Management from the left pane and click on File Screen Templates.
9- Create File Screen Template from the right pane.
10- Specify the Template File Name in the Settings TAB
11- Screening Type: Active Screening
12- File Groups: Create File Group and give it the name you want
13- Insert *.* in Files to Include Field
14- Insert Below list in Files to Exclude
*.bco
*.vsb
*.vlb
*.tmp
*.vbm
*.vbk
*.vbm_*_
*.vib
*.vrb

15- Click on OK
16- Test your jobs (Backup, Restore & Replication Jobs)
17- Good Luck.

after all above configuration's done you'll be able to deny any file extension modifications.

Please don't hesitate to contact me for further support or information.

Good Luck Guys.
foggy
Veeam Software
Liked: 2115 times
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Protect Veeam Repo from Ransomware

Post by foggy » 1 person likes this post

Hi Ali, thanks for sharing your knowledge with the community, much appreciated!
ali.swaidan
Novice

Post by ali.swaidan »

Dear Foggy,

its my pleasure to provide the best support and make this product the top one. its highly appreciated if we can Pin it and share for all users so they can protect their own REPO.
Gostev
Chief Product Officer
Liked: 6725 times

Post by Gostev »

Hi, Ali.