Maintain control of your Microsoft 365 data
rscurrah
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Richard Scurrah

Secondary Target for Office 365 Backups

Post by rscurrah »

We would like to see the option to save backups to a secondary location (e.g. tape) in Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365.

Rich
Polina
Veeam Software
Liked: 681 times
Full Name: Polina Vasileva

Re: Secondary Target for Office 365 Backups

Post by Polina »

Hi Rich,

Your request is noted.
You may also be interested to review this thread.

Thanks!
kyle.manel
Influencer
Liked: 6 times
Full Name: Kyle Manel

Post by kyle.manel » 1 person likes this post

Hi,

As a security professional myself, I have really appreciated Veeam software until I began using Office 365 Backups provided by Veeam.

This product is badly designed;
Any security implementer worth his wage will require both onsite and offsite backups for valuable information. This will require copying the backup files from a local store provided on the server operating Veeam backup for Office 365 AS WELL AS at least one remote site.

I can't believe this has not been identified by a company that creates backup software, though I can acknowledge it may have had a lower priority for development.

With that in mind, how can I find any worth in my backups if they are not capable of being replicated to prevent a loss due to failure.
kyle.manel
Influencer

Post by kyle.manel »

In any case here is the deal, I need to be able to copy the backup files so that contents can be recovered with appropriate system keys.
Can this be done (in a recoverable way) by;
Stopping the Veeam Backup for Office 365, and then copying the files (through a vpn/secure transport) to a remote site?
In cases of failure;
In such a way that I can activate these backups through a re-installed application?
In cases of remote access;
By activating the copied file when it is returned to a local directory on the Veeam Office 365 server itself?
kyle.manel
Influencer

Post by kyle.manel »