Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
lwhitworth
Influencer
Liked: never
Full Name: Luke Whitworth

Strategy check for new installation

Post by lwhitworth »

Hi all,

I'm very new to Veeam and am setting up our backup and replication jobs, and would just appreciate a quick check that I've got the right jobs set up for what I'm hoping to achieve.

In terms of the vSphere side of things, I've got three hosts and a Dell SAN, and that's what's running all VMs. In another building I've got a fourth host with a ton of disk space which runs vSphere standard, and in that is a VM with Veeam on it.

I've got one backup job (set to keep 14 restore points) that runs every hour to backup all VMs to a large drive on the Veeam VM.

I've also got three replication jobs (one for each datastore in the production environment) that's set to keep 1 restore point that replicates to three datastores on the fourth host. Again this (at present) runs every hour.

Now as far as my reckoning goes, if we were to ever lose the main site, I could just turn on the replicas on the fourth host in vSphere and at most I'd have lost an hour. The backups are there so that if anyone does anything silly and I need to recover a file etc. I can do that from one of the fourteen points. Once I'm sure of how much space I need for the backups I'm going to either increase the number of restore points/decrease the frequency of backups so that I can hopefully keep upwards of a fortnights worth.

Does this sound about right for my objectives???

Thanks in advance!

Luke
foggy
Veeam Software
Liked: 2115 times
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Strategy check for new installation

Post by foggy »

Luke, your approach looks quite reasonable. The only thing I would mention, you could setup additional Veeam server for your backup jobs on the source side to get most of the fast source data retrieval from your SAN. Thanks.
lwhitworth
Influencer

Post by lwhitworth »