Standalone backup agent for Microsoft Windows servers and workstations (formerly Veeam Endpoint Backup FREE)
Schly
Novice
Liked: never

3GB added to incremental BU every day on idle computer

Post by Schly »

I'm just beginning with Veeam. I set up a backup for "entire computer".

First backup was 433GB. Great. Expected.

Additional backups each day are averaging 1GB to 3GB.

This computer is 99% idle. Mostly used for a brief internet query or to login to a vpn and RDP session.

Why are my incremental back ups so large? Is there a way to compare daily backups for changes?

Thanks in advance.
Gostev
Chief Product Officer
Liked: 6647 times

Re: 3GB added to incremental BU every day on idle computer

Post by Gostev »

This is normal. OS lives its own life doing a whole bunch of things in the background, which results in many disk content changes. Try Process Monitor from Sysinternals to see the number of writes happening every second on an idle machine, your mind will be blown :D
Schly
Novice

Post by Schly »

That's really kind of unsustainable for an incremental backup. I mean 1 to 3GB a day is a bit under a TB/year just in incremental B/U's.

Is there any way to modify the backup to avoid this or is the solution to choose a file backup only?
HannesK
Product Manager
Liked: 2877 times
Full Name: Hannes Kasparick

Post by HannesK » 1 person likes this post

Hello,
well, a change to Linux would result in less "idle changes". Maybe that's an option? :)

I would never recommend file backup copy. Because that has the side effect that the backup is file based now instead of block based. That means if you change 1KB of a 100MB file, the full 100 MB must be backed up again. Chances are high that this would result in even larger incremental backups.

I tend to go with keep it stupid simple (KISS): how much does it cost to purchase a 1TB disk and how much does it cost to fine tune something that is working as designed?

Best regards,
Hannes
Schly
Novice

Post by Schly »