Maintain control of your Microsoft 365 data
danstr1
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Daniel

Backup for Office 365 Space Requirements

Post by danstr1 »

I'm new to the O365 backup solution. I'm in the midst of performing the initial setup. My intent is to backup O365 to the cloud. My backup server doesn't have sufficient space to support both the local server backups and O365. Before performing any O365 backups, I fear the hard drive space limitations on my local server where Veeam O365 is installed may pose an issue. My question is, if I have 1 TB of data being backed up from O365 that's destined to the cloud (iLand), does that means I also have to have 1 TB of free space on my local machine where VEEAM O365 is performing the backup? Or, and I hope this is the answer, does VEEAM O365 just use the server as a proxy by seeding the data to the cloud as it's processed so the space limitations shouldn't pose an issue?

Thanks in advance! - Dan
Mike Resseler
Product Manager
Liked: 1263 times
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Re: Backup for Office 365 Space Requirements

Post by Mike Resseler »

Dan,

Before we start with the sizing. Can you explain what you want to do with the cloud? Because cloud connect technology does not exists for VBO
danstr1
Novice

Post by danstr1 »

The cloud is being used specifically for storage only.
Mike Resseler
Product Manager
Liked: 1263 times
Full Name: Mike Resseler

Post by Mike Resseler »

Yes, but are we talking about Azure blob storage, AWS S3 or S3-compatible? I might be a bit confused with that you mention iLand
danstr1
Novice

Post by danstr1 »