Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
jac
Lurker
Liked: never
Full Name: James Consterdine

Job Schedule

Post by jac »

Right, so I'm new to Veeam and trying to get my head around how things work.. My boss has asked me to set up the following on our VM's.

Backup each day with Mondays being stored for a month and other days being stored for 1 week. Then once a month a full backup is archived to be kept for up to 1 year.

How would people recommend doing that or something close to it?

I guess I could use the incremental backup and set it to keep 7 restore points at any time, and then set an Active full backup once a week? But I can't find any setting to specify how long the full backup is retained.

Any help appreciated
James
foggy
Veeam Software
Liked: 2115 times
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Job Schedule

Post by foggy »

James, there is no ability to specify different retention periods within a single job, so I would suggest to create two jobs here. The first job to run weekly on Mondays with 4 or 5 restore points kept (assuming there is different number of Mondays in different months), the second will run on a daily basis except Mondays keeping 6 restore points.
averylarry
Veteran
Liked: 30 times
Full Name: Ted

Post by averylarry »

I had a similar situation. I read documentation and then I experimented and eventually I realized that the "old ways" of backups (when everything was on tape) don't fit Veeam very well. In general, hard drive based backups have greater possibilities when compared to tape based backups.