Comprehensive data protection for all workloads
techstarts
Novice
Liked: never
Full Name: Techstarts

Veeam B&R for DR/offsite

Post by techstarts »

I'm new to Veeam B&R product. I have been given a task to evaluate this product for DR
I think I understand backup and replication part.
But I cannot use replication, as we do not have DR site. We always hire a DR Site during our DR test.

So I'm wondering how I can use this product

For production site this is all I can think of implementing
1. Configure Veeam B&R on physical server.
2. Ensure it has HBA
3. Present all Virtual Infrastructure LUN to this Server
4. Also provide additional LUNS which will become backup destination for VM
5. Get these additional luns backed to the tape

During the DR, we go to DR site. However what to do for DR test is not clear to me.
Below is what I can think.

1. Restore the tape to LUN's
2. Rebuild ESX host
2. Present the LUN's to ESX host
3. Go and register each and every VM :?:
4. Power ON the VM

So in DR site I cannot see the option of using Veeam B&R tool and it's features like instant recover.
Appreciate if someone can assist esp how Veeam B&R can be used for DR in absence of DR site

Appreciate if someone can point me to DR procedure in conjunction with Veeam B&R

Thank you,
Preetam
J1mbo
Veteran
Liked: 29 times
Full Name: James Pearce

Re: Veeam B&R for DR/offsite

Post by J1mbo »

When Veeam B&R does it's job it will end up with a small number of large files on the backup server itself. It is these that are needed on tape or preferably USB disk, if they will fit. (As a side note - be VERY careful when presenting LUNs directly to Veeam, frankly this scares the **** out of me given the documented processes that can lead to Windows destroying the SAN file systems!).